It’s November – It must be time for GreenBuild!

When you say it is November, warm memories come to mind of Thanksgiving, first snows and beginning preparations for Christmas.  But now along with those very homey images comes GreenBuild.  This is U.S. Green Building Council’s annual convention that has grown into mega proportions.  I was fortunate enough to attend last year and planning on being there for this one as well. If you visit the U.S.Green Building Council’s website you will get all the information and a handy countdown to the event.

inside Chicago's McCormick Convention Center at GreenBuild 2007

Last year’s Chicago GreenBuild was amazing.  It was great to see that there were so many others sharing a common dream of sustainability.  The organizers were completely overwhelmed at the volume of people that showed up.  Yes, there were long lines, over stuffed seminars and a bulging sea of humanity.  But, the power and knowledge that came out of that event completely juiced me to achieve more and be more sustainably aware of project that I am involved in.

So if this is your first GreenBuild, hello and welcome from me – one of the many.  Let me offer you some valuable tips for a successful experience. 

  1. Wear comfortable shoes!  I can not stress this enough.  You will be walking lots.  I completely collapsed in my room every night in Chicago so happy to not be walking or standing.  I expect the same to be true in Boston.
  2. Allow plenty of time for the expo.  There are many many great ideas and products to discover.  Be sure to schedule, at least, a few hours for the expo.  This year’s expo is suppose to be even bigger than in year’s past.  Some of the great returning exhibitor’s are APCO signs, AutoDesk, Big Ass Fans, and Rainwater Management.  These companies are making valuable contributions to sustainability through their products. 
  3. Preregister for the seminars.  While this wasn’t an option last year, I think it is a very good step in the right direction for GreenBuild.  I sat on the floor during one of the seminars last year and stood for another (did I mention that I had been walking alot?).  It was an unpleasant experience.  Scheduling the attendance for the sessions is a good idea.  I hope it works like they intend.
  4. Bring an empty water bottle.  They have water bubblers throughout the convention to avoid lots of plastic one use water bottles. 
  5. The food will be good (mostly) but expect things to be a little off the beaten path.  I have to say that last year’s sit down lunch was the strangest meal I have ever been served.  Between the 8 or so knowledgeable people at my table we just could not identify every thing on the plate.  USGBC tried to accommodate alot of food types – ie vegan.  I found myself wishing for the rubber chicken plate.  Never a bad idea to have a snack in your bag.
Those are just a few things that come to mind.  When I think back to last year I also think about all the great people I met just riding the bus to the convention center.  Having a few minutes to get to know  a complete stranger was enlightening.  Just as I rediscover every time I travel great distances, I realize that many people are experiencing the same things personally and professionally as me and I am not so alone.
There is still time to register.  Hope to see you there!

Boston GreenBuild

November 18 – 20

0 Responses to “It’s November – It must be time for GreenBuild!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

