GreenBuild catch up…..

I was not able to post as often as I wished during GreenBuild, as there just weren’t enough hours in the day.  I was not one of the people that was busily typing away on my laptop or twittering while the seminars were in progress.   It is hard to believe that GreenBuild 2008 has come and gone.  (Well except for the remaining tours on Saturday)  Now that I have had a little time to decompress here are somtrash1e of the things I saw during GreenBuild 2008.

Trash Police – These kids were great!  Don’t get me wrong, I really like the trash attendants – a few guys but mostly girls.  The first few times I attempted to throw away a soda can on the floor of the expo, I got this very stern “Is it empty!?”  The only response to such a young lady with such a forceful tone is YES MA’AM!  I got very tickled the rest of the conference as they continued on their presorting ways.  Keep up the good work!

The Expo was just the best ever.  I promise I will devote an entire post if not more to the products I saw.  There were several worth mentioning.

Project Frog debuted at GreenBuild.  This was a cool net zero structure for project-frogclassrooms that assembled super fast (six days at the GreenBuild site).  We got to go inside, look around and be impressed.  There was plenty to see and it didn’t feel like a modular.

As expected by many, USGBC and GBCI made announcements concerning LEED 2009.  What it means for newbies and oldies.  I am still digesting the information and will write more about that too but in the mean time check out Pat’s take on it at InTheLEED.

The seminars I attended were diverse in nature.  Wind Turbines, Green Blogs, Platinum Educational Projects, and Sustainability on $2 a day.  They were all great.  I learned something in everyone of them.  The last one was not a seminar I would have normally attended but two of my coworkers were giving it so I thought it would be cool to check it out.   I am sure I was not the normal “Birkenstock hippie” type, but I remained open for the entire presentation and learned a little in the process. 

The idea of poverty as some parts of the world know it just isn’t comprehensible in this country.  It was explained that the poverty line is those living below $2.18 per day.  Geez I can not even imagine….. I spent $2 just to check my coat each day at GreenBuild and I am not even going to tell you how much a diet Pepsi cost me.   I know there are poor in every city but I do believe that those are different situations from what was demonstrated today.  In the demonstrations today the poor in those countries just don’t have any opportunity for work.  Well educated people are idle. 

There were ideas about slums being models of sustainability.  They usually don’t use electricity, cars are not part of their equation and a host of other things we take for granted.  The practices to make housing completely sustainable were creative and encouraging.  Mark Reiner talked about building low cost housing just outside of Rwanda.  Where the infrastructure is completely decentralized.  No roads through the villages, much less any sort of utility.  Thus making the need for every house to sustain itself essential. They accomplished this by utilizing rainwater collection, pit latrines with bio-gas digestoconc-roofrs and methane harvesters for kitchen cooking fuel.  Roof panels for another structures was made out of chicken wire and cloth with concrete poured in place and compressed earthblock technologies were used in yet another.  In one case the waste generated by the village – everything that wasn’t recyclable was put into compost and sold as an organic fertilizer.  Cottage industries like that were helping the villages sustain themselves much like their housing was sustaining itself.

I am not so sure that I have enough Birkenstock Hippie gene in me to ever want to go to a developing country to l help, but I am so very glad that I know other people that are.  Good Job and Thank you!

2 Responses to “GreenBuild catch up…..”


  1. 1 elinorloewen January 7, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Interesting Read! Very detailed blog.
    Thanks for sharing


  1. 1 Flying Toilets « between yellow and blue Trackback on December 7, 2008 at 11:07 pm

Leave a Reply

